Villa with private pool in rural Dordogne - AD003919

9.8/10
Cherveix-Cubas (7km from Hautefort), Dordogne, Aquitaine Reference: AD003919 Advertiser since: 5 January 2015
Property Board Arrival Bedrooms Sleeps Bathrooms
Belle Vue Self Catering Saturday 3 6 2

About this property

Modern Spacious Villa With Private Pool. This villa is in a rural setting.

New beautiful spacious 3 bedroom villa in an unspoilt corner of the Dordogne.  The villa is set in a peaceful location in a small hamlet with stunning views across the Auvezerre Valley
 
Modern spacious living equipped to a very high standard with a private swimming pool and wi-fi.  Situated 500m from village with bars, restaurants and shops, river where canoes can be hired , fishing. Horse riding local
 
The nearest beach is Rouffiac Lake about 15 km and nearest amenities 1 km, with Limoges airport 80 km away.

Type

Villa

Kitchen and dining

Fully equipped modern kitchen with wide range of cooking facilities, microwave, range cooker, food mixer, processor, bread maker, dishwasher, kettle, toaster and clothes dryer.

Living rooms

Large vaulted room with seating for 7 plus a large dining table with seating for 8. We also offer a highchair.

Bedrooms

Ground floor - 1 double and 1 twin.
Upper floor - 1 double bedroom with en suite,
Mezzanine area with storage and a computer game console for use.

Bathrooms

Very large family bathroom with bath, overhead shower and a double sink.

Heating

Electric heaters and a woodburner for the off season period.

Entertainment

We offer free wi-fi. There is satallite tv, dvd player, Sony cd player along with a large selection of board games, cd's, dvd's and reading books.

Private swimming pool and table tennis is available during your stay

Garden and outside

The villa is surrounded by approximately two acres of landscaped gardens with stunning views, with walnut, apple and peach trees.

The terrace is shaded, with dining table, chairs and a bbq for al fresco dining.

Swimming Pool is 8m x 4m and just over 6 foot in depth.
Plenty of lounger seating around the pool area and not overlooked.

Pool towels can be provided.please enquire for tariff.

No near neighbours.

Parking and garages

Space for 5/6 cars.

Visitor suitability

The villa is family friendly, great for children of all ages and suitable for people with restricted mobility. We will consider long term lets of over 1 month,

Please note we do not allow smoking or pets at this property.

Information about any additional facilities

Cherveix Cubas our local village is a 5 minute stroll away and approximately 1 minute by car. It has a bar and two restaurants, one being La Franca Favard’s restaurant, which is very well known in the area and has a very good inexpensive menu. There is a collection of other shops, including, boulangerie, , pharmacy, doctor’s surgery, butcher and Post Office.
The river is 10 minutes walk away where canoes can be hired and good fishing spots
available.

The local campsite - Clupeau has a small beach , good food nice bar overlooking the river and weekend entertainment in the high season.Canoes can be hired from here. Public are very welcome.

Facilities

  • Cleaning

  • Internet

  • No smoking

  • Special needs

  • Linen

  • Child facilities

  • Private pool

Activities

Antiques/Brocante Market

Name of nearest antiques/brocante market: Cherveix Cubas
Distance: 1 km

Climbing/mountaineering

Distance: 10 km

Cycling

Fishing nearby

Species of fish: Trout/ Perch/ Roach / Pike etc;
Name of nearest fishing location: River Auvezere
Distance: 1 km

Golf

Name and address of nearest golf course: Essendieras
Distance: 5 km

Horse riding

Name and address of nearest stables: Toutoraic
Distance: 5 km

Mountain biking

Distance: 1 km

Signed wine route

Name of nearest signed wine route: Bergerac

Skiing

Name of nearest resort: Le Mont Dore
Distance: 190 km

Sports

Walking

Name/number of nearest marked trail: All around village

Watersports

Wine tasting

Name and address of nearest wine producer: Bergerac - too many to offer
Distance: 70 km

About the Owner/Advertiser, Mrs Clare Blizzard

We lived at Belle View until 2010 and still consider this to be our home.

Year property purchased 2007
Why this location? We have travelled throughout France and settled here because we feel the area has so much to offer. It's close to both the sea and mountains, has great lakes for swimming and tele ski-ing and is ideal for our children and grandchildren to visit.
The airports are close and the drive to the tunnel is quite easy.


Unique benefits of property We lived in the house until 2010 and still feel it is our home, we come back as often as we can.. We have left many of our personal belongings and therefore know what makes a home more than just a 'holiday' home. We like our guests to treat this house as their home during their visit and to enjoy the experience.
We have purposely set the accommodation to comfortably suit 6 people. We do not want to offer ' sofa beds ; etc; as we would rather offer spacious living areas.

The Owner Recommends

The Dordogne Region

The area is dominated by pre-history, beautiful architecture and gastronomy. Whether you wish to visit caves with their drawings dating back 20,000 years, picnic by the banks of the Auvezere or Dordogne River or visit the local markets with some of the best produce France, all can be done easily from Belle Vue. The departmental 'capital' town of Perigueux is less than 30 kilometres away and the pedestrianised medieval city with its superbly restored lanes and squares around the cathedral is a great place for a coffee or lunch. The town has extensive Roman remains which are well worth exploring along with the excellent markets in the medieval city on Wednesdays and Saturdays. If you require some 'retail therapy' the large shopping complex in Perigueux will be worth a visit too! There are many pre-historic sites and caves in the area, the most important of which are located in the Vezere valley - Lascaux at Montignac is the most famous followed by the caves at Les Eyzies - all are within easy reach. Picturesque Brantome, the 'Venice' of the Dordogne surrounded by the river Dronne with its troglodyte caves is less than 40 kilometres distant, whilst nearby is the village of St. Jean de Cole - surely one of the most beautiful in France. The pretty town of Sarlat with its warren of alleys, virtually unchanged since the Middle Ages, lined with warm ochre stone houses must be seen and the medieval village of Domme perched on its rocky peak is easily accessible across the River Dordogne. World famous Rocamadour built on the side of a cliff can be visited further away to the south. There are lots of gardens to visit including the magnificent Les Jardins du Manoir d'Eyrignac and those at the Chateau de Hautefort.

The Local Area

The local area offers swimming lakes with beaches, possibilities for aquatic sport, various historic sights, for example Hautefort Chateau and Medical Museum. There are excellent restaurants and cafes offering regional dishes in the area. Canoes can be hired for the Auverreze that flows through the Village. Pony riding, Quad, Paint Ball and Mountain Bikes are also available locally. Fishing licences can be brought at the Cave

The Local Cuisine

The local cuisine includes Limousin beef, foie gras, duck, walnuts and apples. Terrason has a market held on the Mediaeval Bridge across the river Vezere . The Thursday morning market at Terrason is not to be missed with a huge variety of fresh food, vegetables, flowers, clothes, wine, cheeses and fish.

5 Reviews
9.8/10
  • Cleanliness: 10
  • Comfort: 9.6
  • Condition: 9.4
  • Facilities: 9.8
  • Local Amenities: 9.2
  • Setting: 9.8
  • Value for Money: 10
10 / 10 rpcm 14 August, 2018

Very good location for exploring the Dordogne region. Within easy reach of the local village with its baker, butcher and restaurant. The nearest supermarket was 6 kms away.
The house is very well equipped, clean and comfortable. The pool was well used especially when the temperature reached nearly 40 degrees.

Owner response

Thankyou Richard for your kind comments ,always nice to receive positive comments.
We are glad you and your Family enjoyed your stay.

8.8 / 10 Happy Holidayer 30 July, 2018

I can understand why other reviews were 10 out of 10 but I do consider that a 10 means every single detail must be perfect.

The reasons for not getting a 10? Some of the decor in the bedrooms looked as if it has been a bit rushed, some of the tiles round the pool were coming up and the edges were coming away and we found the standard double beds too small, especially in such hot weather. The road which the property was on was a mixture of well looked after properties, some not well maintained at all and some that appeared derelict.
It seemed that most of the building/shops in the village had closed down. I was particularly dissappointed because I was intending to do some pottering there whilst my partner and teenagers participated in some more adventurous activities. There is a beautiful village nearby (Hautefort) but as we only had one car I could not visit whilst the others were away.
Regretably we were unable to find any cycle hire near us and the quad biking closed 10 years ago!

The villa, particularly the living area, kitchen, outdoor eating area and the surrounding grounds were beautiful and the the owners welcoming and pleasant. The teenagers found lots of activities within a short drive away. A place well worth the money and a visit.

Owner response

I wouldn't have expected any less of a review. We have let out our house for eight seasons and never had comments like this or a house left in such a bad state ! The bedroom decoration was not rushed and have been commented on how good they look. A Double Bed is a double bed !

We have had severe storms recently which has meant external damage around the Pool which cannot be rectified in a matter of weeks. The tiles are not coming up but 'rock '. If you had spoken to us we could have explained.
It's a shame that research was not carried out before about the area as it's obvious we live in a rural situation where amenities are not necessarily in the local village.The VTT Hire and canoe hire is in the village.
I'm sorry you only had one car but that is out of our control.
The houses in the road, and area, are not derelict ( normal closed shutter perhaps ? ) .
The house and Pool was left in such a state we were not able to get it ready for the next guests when they arrived. Absolutely no respect for our property or belongings.

It seems likely that we could never match you expectations and I suggest you give Rural France a miss.

Pretty upsetting review considering the comments we normally receive.

10 / 10 Andypink 31 July, 2017

As all previous reviewers have stated, this is an absolutely stunning villa where you will want for nothing. Everything that you could possibly want is here. the pool area is excellent and the gardens are beautiful. The pictures on the website do not do this place justice as it is better than it looks in the photos.The location is amazing too and it is just a short stroll to civilization. It is a great base for exploring the Dordogne and I would highly recommend it to anyone. We will be heading further south next year to try and guarantee better weather as this year was pretty poor.
Thank you Alan and Clare for providing such a superb villa in a fantastic location.

The Pinkstone Family

Owner response

Hi Andrew
Many thanks for your kind comments.it was such a shame the weather was not too good.I think you were very unlucky as it,s been very hot up until your visit and it,s now back up in the high 20,s.

We lived here for many years and have experienced a few 'bad week's ourselves.However it does lend itself to green fields and thick woods.
We,'ve also tried to have as many facilities,in the villa, to keep families entertained as we know we are not in the South of France.
Best regards
Alan and Clare

10 / 10 Derek & Carol 18 July, 2017

The villa which is set in an idyllic part of the countryside with beautiful views. You have all the privacy you want for a totally chilled holiday. It is a home away from home everything you need is there - kitchen equipment - books - toys and pool toys for the children. The pool is so welcoming on a hot summers day. We would recommend this villa to our friends and family and would definitely stay again.

Owner response

Thankyou Carol & Derek.
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Belle Vue,It's always good to get such positive feed back and knowing you would come and stay again.

Clare & Alan