Pretty cottage to let in Brittany

Bignan (9km from Locmine), Morbihan, Brittany Reference: BM004701 Advertiser since: 23 March 2016
Property Board Arrival Bedrooms Sleeps Bathrooms Additional info
Penderff Forge Self Catering Friday 1 3 1 2 sofabeds

About this property

Lovingly Restored Comfortable Cottage.. This cottage/gite is in a village setting.

Penderff Forge and Cottage are adjacent to each other in an elevated position surrounded by open countryside. Lovingly restored over many years by the english owners, they now offer very comfortable holiday accommodation. Treat yourself to dinner at La Fourchette in the nearby village of St. Jean Brevelay. Its a half hour drive to Vannes on the south coast for shopping and sightseeing, or take a leisurely walk along the banks of the Blavet river. A really relaxing location.



Kitchen and dining

Ground Floor: Open plan living area with corner kitchen, cooker, fridge and washing machine.

Living rooms

Open plan living area with corner kitchen, cooker, fridge and washing machine. Easy chairs, Breton desk and dining furniture. TV (only plays DVDs). (wi-fi available in village of Locmine).


First Floor: Upstairs to double bedroom with adjacent sitting area.


First Floor: Bathroom with mini bath and shower. Wc.

Garden and outside

Outdoors is a small pleasant garden surrounded by farm land. Outdoor furniture and bbq.

Information about any additional facilities

Metered electricity (40 units free). Gas fired heating (£50 per week if used). English owned.


  • Linen

  • Child facilities



Name/number of nearest marked trail: Several

The Owner Recommends


The local village of Bignan (3km) has local shopping and the celebrated restaurant of La Chouanniere


Locmine (8km) has more extensive shopping and is on the N24 expressway which will give you fast access to the coast, the famous town of Josselin.


The Napoleonic town of Pontivy and the city of Vannes are about 30 minutes drive, so you are well placed for an excellent touring holiday.

1 Review
  • Cleanliness: 5
  • Comfort: 5
  • Condition: 6
  • Facilities: 6
  • Local Amenities: 5
  • Setting: 7
  • Value for Money: 6
5.8 / 10 Healer Jack 11 September, 2017

The Gite is in a lovely part of the area. There should be a map with detailed directions to find it. We weren't told how we would get in, but quickly worked it out when we got there. The manual mentioned a leaking shower. It leaked because it of the high pressure of the water said the manual. No, it leaked because it needed repair. The shower was not high pressure.On Monday we came down to water around the kitchen area. One of the mats was wet. Thought it was the shower. The next day we came down to much more water. There was a smell. A valve at the bottom of the water tank spewed toilet water out when it was flushed. We contacted the local person who got a plumber to come around the next morning. So, we had a day without proper toilet facilities. The local person was excellent. We thought the problem was solved. The same process replayed itself Friday morning when we were packing to go home. Two double sockets near the TV didn't work so we had to move it to watch it. There was no torch [should have been] at the property. The shrubbery outside was in need of attention. If the basics above were put right, we would recommend it. The visitors book had no entries for the last two years. It would benefit from rather a lot of TLC.

Owner response

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry that you had some difficulties. We sent you some arrival instructions on the 14th July which had directions to the property plus a map link. The instructions also contained information on how to get into the property. With regards to the leaking shower, unfortunately when you called, we were only made aware of the problems with the toilet. As the property uses a sceptic tank, the system became blocked by something that should not have been flushed. Very pleased that Camille our local manger was to able to resolve the issue.

We are grateful for your feedback and will pass your comment on to the owner.