Cottage to let nr Lac de Guerledan Brittany - BN002641

Laniscat (6km from Gouarec), Côtes d'Armor, Brittany Reference: BN002641 Advertiser since: 7 August 2009
Property Board Arrival Bedrooms Sleeps Bathrooms
Triton Cottage Self Catering Flexible 3 7 2

About this property

Beautifully Restored Breton Longere. This cottage/gite is in a rural setting.

The cottage is just 3km from the pretty village of Gouarec, where the river Blavet meets the Nantes-Brest Canal. The village has all amenities: a supermarket, bank, Post Office, pharmacy and restaurant.

Close by is the Abbey of Bon Repos situated on the side of the canal, this picturesque, historic, Cistercian monastery is a delightful picnic spot and on Sunday mornings has a small produce and craft market which is well worth a visit. Each summer it hosts the largest Son et Lumiere in the area. The canal towpath is perfect for walking or cycling, winter and summer. Five minutes drive by car is the Lac de Guerledan, the largest lake in Brittany with safe beaches, watersport facilities, cafes and restaurants and an excellent outdoor centre with over 10 kms of cycle track at Mur-de-Bretagne.
Changeover days can be flexible. Short lets accepted, minimum 3 days booking.

Brittany is a fascinating mix of spectacular coastline and ancient towns and if you should wish to venture further-a-field, the cottages central location means much of historic Brittany is within easy reach.



Kitchen and dining

The kitchen is well appointed with full size electric oven and hob, washing machine, dishwasher, fridge and microwave.

Living rooms

The open plan living area has a wood burning stove, with wood provided. Wide double doors lead out onto the patio area.


The ground floor has 1 double room with a double bed and a second room with bunk beds. The first floor comprises solely of the master bedroom with its own spacious bathroom. A single bed or cot can be added to make this a large family room.


The master bedroom has its own spacious en suite and there is also a separate shower room and a wc on the ground floor.


Fully centrally heated, but there is also a wood burning stove, for those romantic evenings in front of the fire.


There is both French and English satellite television, a cd player and dvd player with dvds provided. A shelf of books, boardgames, jigsaws, a badminton set for the garden and an indoor games room with table tennis, babyfoot, a small pool table and darts.

Garden and outside

Outside is a large lawn on which to sunbathe, eat and barbecue. All garden furniture is provided.

Parking and garages

Parking for 3 cars.

Visitor suitability

The cottage is equally suitable for a couple wanting a quiet break alone or for bringing the children and grandchildren.


  • Cleaning

  • Internet

  • No smoking

  • Pets welcomed *

  • Linen

  • Child facilities

* Vet details: Our local vet is in Rostrenen, we are happy to make appointments for you.



Family activities

Fishing nearby

Species of fish: Pike, bream, trout, perch, roach
Name of nearest fishing location: Nantes-Brest Canal
Distance: 3 km

Horse riding

Name and address of nearest stables: Equestre Centre Camina, 22570 Plellauff
Distance: 7 km


Name/number of nearest marked trail: GR37, GR341


About the Owner/Advertiser, Ms Lorna Cotton

Ian and I love our life in France, the beautiful countryside, the excellent food and wine, the laid-back lifestyle. We are lovers of art and architecture, history, all things to do with boats and Ian plays in a local rock band.

Year property purchased 2005
Why this location? Brittany has the most equitable climate in France, never too hot in summer, never too cold in winter, and there are so many lovely places to visit,all very easy to reach on the wonderful traffic free roads.
Then right on our doorstep is the beautiful Lac de Guerledan, the largest man-made lake in Brittany, which offers swimming, boating, paddle-boarding and water-skiing, as well as the glorious walks all around the area and safe, easy, cycling.
Unique benefits of property Our spacious 18th century cottage is renovated to 21st century standards and in 2006 we were proud to win the Velux Award for the 'Best Renovation of an Ancient Building', and feature on tv.

The Owner Recommends

Ile de Brehat

Take a boat trip out to this beautiful island. You will then have to hire a bike as no cars are allowed or just wander the streets and find a cosy place for lunch.

Mur de Bretagne

Visit the lively produce market each Friday evening and watch Breton dancing in the square

Nearest Market

Bon Repos 3km

Nearest Port

St Malo 100km

Nearest Restaurant

Gouarec 3km


Visit first the beautiful cathedral and then go on to the famous pottery factory to watch them hand paint the porcelain as they have for over a hundred years. But remember to take your credit card as you will be tempted

Son et Lumiere

Come in August and see Brittany's most spectacular sound and light show at the Abbaye de Bon Repos

The Merlin Restaurant

Visit the restaurant with the best location on the Lac de Guerledan. Sit on the terrace with a glass of wine and eat tapas as you watch the sunset over the lake.

5 Reviews
  • Cleanliness: 7.6
  • Comfort: 7.6
  • Condition: 7.4
  • Facilities: 7.6
  • Local Amenities: 7
  • Setting: 7.4
  • Value for Money: 7.8
9.5 / 10 Irene carterj 3 October, 2016

Hire was excellent and lots of light airy space My bed downstairs was very comfy but upstairs double was rather soft and worn mattress Thanks for lovely stay Would recommend to friend especially if mattress upstairs was replaced
Lovely owners and good welcome thanks

Owner response

Thank you for letting me know about the mattress in the top bedroom, it is a soft mattress compared to the one downstairs, some people like that, though I understand that it isn't to everyone's taste. It isn't an old mattress, but I will definitely go and check it out to make sure it isn't 'worn'. Kindest Regards, Lorna

1.8 / 10 TM AND EJM 27 August, 2016

Terrible and that's being polite.

Broken bed, dirty cups and surfaces, fleas yes fleas, TV that did not work half the time, showers that did not work when another tap was running.

Cooker with no markings to tell you how to operate.

Washing line that actually made the clothes dirtier ( yes really!! )

Not enough glasses for a family of five and glasses that were chipped and damaged.

Outside sitting area with broken and dirty chairs.

No soap of any cleaning equipment to provide basic hygene.

Outside play area with table tennis table in the middle of a sandy dusty shed, just great for someones health!

The local area is okay but no much to do with older kids, if you were to go take a dog, walking boots and a bike. Local restuarants were also very poor.

We have holidayed in France for 17 years and this has to be the worst place ever.

The BBQ was good though as was the hoover!!!

Enough said!!!

Owner response

Dear Mr Maxwell,
I was shocked and surprised to read you three page essay in our visitor’s book, then TripAdvisor and now this. You were so very charming when you asked to borrow a screw driver as there was a problem with the bunk beds, and so happy to fix it for me as you knew my husband was away. When my husband came back on the Wednesday and came to speak to you, you didn’t mention any of these problems. I have never had to deal with this situation before so it is difficult to know what to say, so I will stand by the FIFTEEN, 5*reviews we have on TripAdvisor and let other readers decide why you wrote this.
Lorna Cotton

9.3 / 10 Susan 16 August, 2013

Good points
Glorious garden grounds. Helpful and friendly owners live next door, and have got the balance right between being helpful and leaving you in peace to enjoy your holiday.

Bad points
Slightly odd entrance to en-suite bathroom through swing doors. Quirky, rather than a 'bad' point.

10 / 10 Mike 15 August, 2013

Good points
Everything - quiet private location with plenty of garden and parking. Owners could not be more helpful and friendly. You really need a car for rural Brittany which then brings lots of delightful places within easy reach - beaches at the nearby lake, market days or easy day trips to the coast,

Bad points
Not a bad point for us but some townies may like to be aware that there is a working dairy farm next door.