Holiday cottage with pool in rural Vendee

5.7/10
L'Hermenault (11km from Fontenay-le-Comte), Vendée, Western Loire Reference: LV004738 Advertiser since: 6 April 2016
Property Board Arrival Bedrooms Sleeps Bathrooms Additional info
Rousseau Self Catering Saturday 3 7 2 Sofa beds in lounge

About this property

Beautiful Farmhouse With Pool Set In Rural Hamlet. This villa is in a rural setting.

Beautiful old farm house, fully modernised, with heated swimming pool in Vendee.
Set in a small hamlet and near to larger towns it is ideal for families or those wanting a tranquil break to experience the real France.
 
Close by:
 
L’Hermenault: Chateau. Country Walk from house Fontenay: Town Walk & Chateau Mervent/Vouvant: village/woodland walks, zoo, children amusement park Lake Beach at Chassenon-le-Bourg (D745 out of Fontenay direction Parthenay/St Hilaire des Loges) La Rochelle : beautiful old town & port, town beach, restaurants Marais Poitevin – walks and boat hire on canals & river, restaurants at Coulon & Maizellais Niort : attractive old town, restaurants & out of town shops Les Sables d’Olonne : coast and beach La Faute sur Mer: beach Mareuil sur Lay: main vineyards for the Vendee, follow the Route des Vins Fiefs Vendeens to visit local vineyards for tasting & buying Lucon : Cathedral and park

Type

Villa

Kitchen and dining

Modern kitchen with all facilities.
Expendable dining table.

Living rooms

3 Sofas around traditional fireplace.
Sky tv free to air packs only.

Bedrooms

3 Bedrooms: 2 doubles and 1 twin.

Bathrooms

Master - Bath, shower, toilet and sink.
En suite: Shower cubicle.

Heating

Electric heaters and gas heaters.

Entertainment

Swimming pool heated, bbq.

Garden and outside

Good size shingle drive and pool area.
Astro turf by pool and fruit trees in back.
Gardener maintained grounds.

Parking and garages

Large driveway offering off street parking.

Visitor suitability

Family, couples, walkers.

Facilities

  • Cleaning

  • No smoking

  • Linen

  • Child facilities

  • Private pool

Activities

Cycling

Mountain biking

Distance: 6 km

Walking

Name/number of nearest marked trail: From villa

Watersports

Wine tasting

Name and address of nearest wine producer: Pissotte
Distance: 5 km

About the Owner/Advertiser, Mr Laurence Smith

We are a family from the UK with 2 young boys and have been visiting the area for over 9 years now. The hamlet and neighbours are great - it is quiet and friendly but with the facilities we have added such as the heated pool and play things there is plenty to do.

Year property purchased 2007
Why this location? It is so easy to reach by car or plane from the UK. The weather is great and you can enjoy the coast or inland France. There are plenty of things to do for days out locally or within an hour - we still find new things to do after so many years for adults and kids alike!
Unique benefits of property The house has a homely and friendly feel with all the creature comforts of home - dish washer, washing machine, heated pool.

If you have any questions do not hesitate to ask. We have a great network of local English and French people to help out with any situation.

The Owner Recommends

Close By

L’Hermenault: Chateau. Country Walk from house Fontenay: Town Walk & Chateau Mervent/Vouvant: village/woodland walks, zoo, children amusement park Lake Beach at Chassenon-le-Bourg (D745 out of Fontenay direction Parthenay/St Hilaire des Loges) La Rochelle : beautiful old town & port, town beach, restaurants Marais Poitevin – walks and boat hire on canals & river, restaurants at Coulon & Maizellais Niort : attractive old town, restaurants & out of town shops Les Sables d’Olonne : coast and beach La Faute sur Mer: beach Mareuil sur Lay: main vineyards for the Vendee, follow the Route des Vins Fiefs Vendeens to visit local vineyards for tasting & buying Lucon : Cathedral and park

Further Away

Le Puy de Fou – historical re-enactment theme park Poitiers – shopping and beautiful old town Nantes – shopping and attractive old town/chateau Coastal towns – St Jean de Monts, St Gilles Croix de Vie

1 Review
5.7/10
  • Cleanliness: 5
  • Comfort: 6
  • Condition: 5
  • Facilities: 6
  • Local Amenities: 7
  • Setting: 6
  • Value for Money: 6
5.7 / 10 miranda 29 August, 2016

The property is as described in terms of location.

Owners were very helpful and quick to respond both when booking and when there. Directions were clear.

Beds were made, bath towels small, (no swimming towels); house clean; Beds are hard foam and duvets and pillows are basic. One fan - didn't try air conditioner in main bedroom. No gardener arrived all the time we were there and it wasn't clear if there was a cleaner available while there or if one comes in afterwards.

Plumbing is an issue... but all works! There is no internet.

Pool: this is the key facility/feature of this property; when we arrived the pool temp was a cool 22 - and the weather was warm but not very hot. For the first 3 days the temp went from 22 down to 19: apparently the pool heater is set to come on when it goes below 25: this did not happen at all.
By the time the pool guy came to check it out, France had had its hottest day of the year so far, and the pool had reached 25.
We did explain that the heater had not worked all week, even when pool cooler; we were disappointed with the pool temperature as we had specifically asked about this prior to booking.

Plenty of games in cabinet although we didn't use them; table football, 3 fridges. washing machine, dishwasher all working. No DVD player but after a few tries managed to get the PS2 player to play one.


We enjoyed eating our meals outside; we didn't use the BBQ.

Owner response

We were a little surprised at the score and comments. On the points raised we feel the following to be a fair summary:

Towels - Most accommodation do not supply pool and beach towels from our experience. All other towels were included and we did advise in advance there were no pool towels when asked.
Beds - The main bedroom has a quality sprung mattress. The child beds and spare room bed do have foam which is very common in France and they are comfortable.
Gardener - Our gardener knows the booking timetable and arrives outside of people being present so as to not disturb holidays.
Cleaner - They arrive before people come into the property and clean up after people leave. Unfortunately for the price we do not offer cleaning during the stay, and I believe this is common in most lettings.
Internet - It is advised there is no Wi-Fi or internet but there is good 3 and 4G coverage.
Pool - We sent out our pool service guy who arrived within 36 hours of being alerted there was a possible problem. Heaters only activate if the pool temperature is low. Unfortunately the thermometers in the filter are not accurate so going forwards we will remove them. The pool is serviced regularly which includes the heater but due to the sunlight the LED display does not always appear visible due to the heat of the sunlight. The maintenance guy did say France was in a heat way so would not have expected the heater to switch on.
DVD - The PS2 player is a DVD