Holiday cottage & pool to let nr Gourdon Lot - ML000707

8.8/10
Saint-Projet (10km from Gourdon), Lot, Midi Pyrenees Reference: ML000707 Advertiser since: 15 August 2000
Property Board Arrival Bedrooms Sleeps Bathrooms
Les Rossignols Self Catering Flexible 2 5 2

About this property

Delightful Old Farmhouse with Private Swimming Pool. This cottage/gite is in a village setting.

This charming cottage with private pool stands in 2 acres of fenced gardens in a sleepy village, but close to market towns like Gourdon and Sarlat.
Restored as part of an old farmhouse with comfortable accommodation, it consists of beamed sitting/dining room with satellite tv. Open plan kitchen with all amenities (dishwasher, washing machine, microwave). Stairs leading to mezzanine with single bed, a twin bedded room and double bedroom. Both with en suite shower room (basin, shower and wc). So much to see, so much to do with fishing, golf, horse riding, water sports, walking and cycling or just relax in beautiful surroundings. Linen and services included.
Your dog is most welcome.
Free secure wi-fi broadband internet available for guests.
Flexible arrival/departure dates out of season. Long lets available at competitive price.


Some quotes from our visitors book:-
The rustic charm of a bygone era with first class comforts.
Tranquil setting - wonderful garden and facilities. Charming and discreet hosts.
What a lovely place in which to relax. Long may it's exclusivity reign.
We immediately felt at home. Les Rossignols is the perfect place to unwind.
Calm and comfort of the house, along with the beauty of the area.
One of the most relaxing holidays we had.
Daisy the dog has returned to London a much less nervous dog than she was a month ago.

Pets are particularly welcome!
We used to help the local cat charity. We have a cat of our own.

Type

Cottage/Gite

Kitchen and dining

The kitchen is fully equipped with dishwasher, washing machine, cooker/oven, fridge, microwave and the usual range of small electric appliances. Plenty of cutlery, dishes and glasses.

The dining area is part of the sitting room.

Living rooms

The living room is part of the dining area and kitchen.

Bedrooms

The property sleeps 4 comfortably in 1 twin and 1 double bedroom, each with en suite shower, wc and handbasin. Extra bed on the mezzanine to accommodate a 5th guest

Bathrooms

Two en suite shower rooms with shower, hand basin and wc

Heating

Centrally heated for out of season lets.

Entertainment

Very private (not overlooked at all) non chloride 8 x 4m swimming pool with Roman steps and a 'jet stream' - ideal for energetic swimmers or a relaxing massage. Underwater lighting makes it a joy to have a late night swim under a star-studded sky. Free, secure wi-fi broadband internet, satellite and French tv, video recorder and DVD with wide choice of tapes and discs. Bookcases filled with all sorts of books and games.

Garden and outside

The property is set in 2 acres of completely fenced and well maintained gardens. Outside the French windows is a lawned area with awning for al fresco meals. Two barbecues - one at the swimming pool and one close by your cottage. Large lawn for ball games.

Parking and garages

Parking in the grounds.

Information about any additional facilities

The property is fully renovated but retains its original stone walls and beams. The ground floor is open plan with stairs leading to the first floor and French windows overlooking the garden.

Facilities

  • Internet

  • Linen

  • Private pool

Activities

Antiques/Brocante Market

Name of nearest antiques/brocante market: Le Vigan, Gourdon
Distance: 5 km

Cycling

Fishing nearby

Species of fish: fresh water fish
Name of nearest fishing location: Lake at Le Vigan
Distance: 2 km

Golf

Name and address of nearest golf course: Souillac Golf Course
Distance: 8 km

Horse riding

Name and address of nearest stables: Cales Stables
Distance: 5 km

Mountain biking

Distance: 6 km

Sports

Walking

Name/number of nearest marked trail: maps available

Watersports

The Owner Recommends

Daytrips

St Projet is between the Rivers Dordogne and Lot. Surrounded by beautiful countryside with easy access to chateaux, pre-historic caves, vineyards and fortified towns with famous names like Rocamadour, Domme, Saint Cirq-Lapopie and Sarlat.

Fishing

Le Vigan 2 km away has a large lake for fishing.

Gourdon 7km

Gourdon has excellent shops, restaurants, sidewalk cafes for your coffee and croissant and watching the world go by. Spoilt for choice with 5 supermarkets and a twice weekly market with local produce and typical French goods.

Le Vigan

3km to the west is the historic village of Le Vigan with all amenities - best butcher of the area, patisserie, supermarket and hairdresser - also doctor and pharmacy.

Nearest restaurant

Le Vigan, 5 minutes away, has 5 restaurants, whilst Gourdon at 10 minutes away has a wide choice of local and international cuisine

Rambling

Ramblers will be delighted with the countryside. We have many walking maps for you.

Watersports and More

Canoeing, fishing, riding, tennis, aquaparcs and golf are all close by or perhaps a boat trip or sun-tanning on the riverside beaches is more your style.

17 Reviews
8.8/10
  • Cleanliness: 8.7
  • Comfort: 8.5
  • Condition: 8.7
  • Facilities: 8.9
  • Local Amenities: 8.5
  • Setting: 9.2
  • Value for Money: 8.9
8.5 / 10 Linda and Chris 16 September, 2019

The owners are great people but quite elderly and we fear the extensive grounds have become too much for them to manage
The cottage itself is lovely and well equipped. We love cats but there really are too many and this would definitely be a problem for some guests. Le Projet is a lovely quiet village and although there is no longer a boulangerie everything you need is available at Le Vigan and Gourdon which are close by. We really enjoyed our daily dips in the pool apart from a few days when the weather was a bit chilly. We wish the owners many more happy years at Les Rossignols

Owner response

Thank you for taking the trouble and time to write your review. Firstly, you were the most wonderful guest and yes we agree with you that we have too many cats. We picking up the pieces were irresponsible - both French and English - owners leaving their animals behind.
The weather has been extreme this year. Days of temperature in the 40ties, followed by days of heavy rain. Everything has grown immensely. We hope you had a leisurely trip down to Spain and indeed we also hope that we have many happy years in front of us.

10 / 10 The Penders 18 August, 2019

Wow, What a time we had at Les Rossignols, the accomodation was exactly as described. We've never rented a property with as well kitted out kitchen, we were able to completely cater for ourselves. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. Kevin and Constance were excellent hosts, Kevins attention to the pool everyday was excellent and Constance was there when ever we needed her. It is a pet lovers paradice but if you dont like pets it might be advisable to seek other accomodation, we however have 10 cats and four dogs and our Daughter and her boyfriend are almost qualified vets, so it was great to mingle with Constance's pet cats. Its located in a very quite hamlet , if your after peace and quite away from the hustle and bustle with the luxury of a 4 Star hotel all to yourself then this is for you. Shops and supplies are very close in Le Vigan and Gourdon. Its is also conviently located to the major roads in the region which we used to put 3500km on our rental car over our two week stay.
Thank you so much Kevin & Constance for our wonderful break with you, we would hihgly recommend it .

Owner response

Dear all, thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write your review. We will never forget your kindness and help and thoroughly enjoyed your company. It was as we met up with old friends again. So nice to meet with your daughter and her fiancee vets, who gave me good tips about caring for Cathinka who was hit by a car in her earlier years and was rescued by us in Souillac. We hope we keep in contact and whenever you in the area please stop by for a bite and some wine and remember the good times we had together. You all were on our wave length and we never forget you. With lots of love.

5.8 / 10 J N-J 13 August, 2019

Very tranquil setting with a private pool but the house is not big enough for 5 people. The cottage is very sweet but needs some updating and a bit of TLC.

We were not able to have the doors open as the cats would always want to come in. It was also difficult to sit outside and eat as one cat in particular was constantly trying to jump up on our laps. It needs to be stressed that there are a lot of cats and anyone with an allergy needs to be aware of this.

There are two bathrooms which is good, each with a shower. However one shower was leaking into the room downstairs. Although Kevin tried to fix it, the leak continued which left one shower between 5 people.

All in all a very sweet cottage in a very quiet village but some updating is required.

2.2 / 10 Johnson Family 13 August, 2019

We were most disappointed with our stay at Les Rossignols. Cleanliness was poor and we had to vacuum, dust and clean the entire kitchen and all tables before feeling comfortable. On arrival there was a horrible smell coming from the fridge and as it transpired this was because it was not working. On notifying the owners, their response was rather blase, advising that they would see about getting us another one on Monday (2 days later). A new fridge never arrived during the week we were there. The bed in the master bedroom was extremely old and creaked alarmingly making it very difficult to sleep. The swimming pool was the best feature, but the mattresses to cover the pool chairs were disgusting - covered in animal hair, mouldy and generally unusable.
We are sure that this was a delightful gite once, but it is now sadly neglected and very much out of date. We would not recommend staying there and will not be returning

Owner response

If Mr. Johnson - who read and understood the terms and conditions, but refused to pay the breakage deposit (and only after repeat requests paid the tax de sejour) had been a bit more understanding things could have been resolved. We went out the same day to buy a new fridge 50 km from here, but delivery could only been made on Friday. We are sorry that you had a miserable week (and so had we!) and hope that your next stay in France will be a happier one.