Large house in Rural Normandy, Manche - NM003457

8.1/10
Saint-Jores (10km from La Haye-du-Puits), Manche, Normandy Reference: NM003457 Advertiser since: 16 December 2013
Property Board Arrival Bedrooms Sleeps Bathrooms
Maison Calvaire Self Catering Saturday 6 12 4

About this property

6 Bedroom Cottage in Beautiful Normandy Countryside . This cottage/gite is in a village setting.

Large detached house ideally situated for exploring Normandy. Set on the edge of the village of Le Plessis Lastelle in the beautiful Normandy countryside this large spacious house is ideally located within easy driving distance to the ferry ports of Cherbourg 45 minutes and Caen 1hr 15 minutes.The D-day landing beaches, blue flag resort of Barneville-Cartaret, Bayeux, and Cherbourg are within a short driving distance.

Type

Cottage/Gite

Kitchen and dining

Fully equipped kitchen with ceramic hob, oven, microwave, fridge-freezer. Dining room leading out to large decking area with patio furniture and bbq.
Utility room with dishwasher, washing machine, sink and ironing facilities.

Living rooms

Spacious lounge with glass screen wood burning stove. A 46" Flat screen tv with English Freesat, video player, dvd player, and wi-fi.

Bedrooms

Ground floor: One twin bedroom
First floor: Master bedroom with double bed and en suite facilities.
One double bedroom
One twin bedroom
Family room with double bed with interconnecting twin bedroom and shower room.

Bathrooms

Ground Floor: Shower room, 2 separate wc.
First Floor: One bathroom with bath, overhead shower and wc.
One separate wc.
One en suite shower room with enclosed shower and wc.
One family shower room with enclosed shower and wc.

Heating

Large wood burning stove in lounge providing ducted heating to ground floor bedroom and 2 first floor bedrooms.
Remainder of house heated with electric convector heaters.

Entertainment

Flat screen 46" tv with English Freesat, cd player, video and dvd players with a selection of videos, dvd's.
A selection of reading books and games are available.

Garden and outside

Large gardens with decked patio area with patio furniture and bbq.

Parking and garages

Parking available for up to 4 vehicles.

Facilities

  • Cleaning

  • Internet

  • No smoking

  • Pets welcomed *

  • Linen

  • Child facilities

* Vet details: TBA

Activities

Antiques/Brocante Market

Name of nearest antiques/brocante market: La Haye Du Puits
Distance: 9 km

Cycling

The Owner Recommends

Blue Flag Beach

Barneville-Carteret 20 minute drive away.

D-Day Beaches

The D-day landing beaches are a 25 minute drive from the cottage and beaches on the west coast are 20 minute drive away.

6 Reviews
8.1/10
  • Cleanliness: 7.8
  • Comfort: 7.2
  • Condition: 7.8
  • Facilities: 8.8
  • Local Amenities: 6.7
  • Setting: 9.2
  • Value for Money: 7.7
10 / 10 RogH 6 November, 2019

This is a well furnished and well equipped property situated in a semi-rural setting ideal for larger families or a group of friends. The central Normandy location is excellent for visiting the D-Day beaches and battle sites, together with museums, memorial sites including Bayeaux with it's war cemeteries and Tapestry.
There are no restaurants, pubs or shops in the near vicinity but travelling within a 7 miles radius these can be found.

6.5 / 10 Chrissie53 30 September, 2019

The house, area and facilities within the home are good. Cleanliness of a good standard. Furniture in lounge dated and not the most comfortable. Mattresses and pillows were hard.
In terms of size for large families represents excellent value. The grounds and gardens large .weather unfortunately not on our side but you can't order sunshine.

Owner response

It is regrettable that Maison Calvaire did not meet your expectations.
The lounge in Maison Calvaire is very large room which requires seating for up to 12 people admittedly it is not all matching however it is in good condition. We have taken your comments onboard and plan to update the furniture at a later date.
The pillows in the property have a memory core with synthetic filling, these pillows were chosen because they support the head and do not go flat. On your recommendation I will have a few spare pillows in the property that do not have a memory core filling.
With the mattresses it is difficult to accommodate one’s preference in mattresses we have a mix of sprung and foam mattresses in the property. The mattresses and all the beds will be inspected and reviewed on the next visit.
I am so sorry the weather was not good during your visit; I hope you have better luck on your next holiday.
Kindest Regards,
Helen Evans

3.2 / 10 Normandy 25 June, 2019

The property was big enough for us as a family of five and the location was good for what we needed.

Unfortunately the property was not cleaned to a high standard at all. There was pet hair everywhere in the property - chairs, beds etc. sorry to say there was also pet hair on the bedding.
Also, human hair in various places as well.

Matresses also very tired as you could feel and hear the springs when you moved, very poor condition indeed and needed relacing some time ago.

The owner was emailed about the cleanliness and the mattresses a few days after we arrived but apart from saying she would investigate nothing else has been done or said up until the time of writing this review.

Despite the excitement of returning to Normandy (where we had lived for seven years not so long ago), we would not recommend this property and would not return there ourselves.

Owner response

Thank you for your feedback we take all our reviews seriously but are very concerned and upset regarding your comments.
We work hard making Maison Calvaire excellent, pet friendly family friendly, holiday accommodation and have lots of repeat bookings.
We have excellent local cleaners but sometimes, even the best cleaners will have their off days. That is why we’ve put in an escalation process, that if Maison Calvaire is not cleaned to your satisfaction on your arrival, or if there are any other problems .with the premises, you have their telephone number to call them back to rectify the problem. I'm surprised you did not contact them directly.
With regard to your comments on the mattress’s. Only two bedrooms out of the out of the five bedrooms at the house have sprung mattress’s the others have foam mattress’s. We personally use these bedrooms regularly and have no problems with the mattress’s. We have consulted with our recent customers that have used these bedrooms, (hence the short delay in my response to your feedback), they also confirm that they have had no problems with our sprung mattress’s.
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Maison Calvaire and wish you better luck with your next holiday.

10 / 10 DJC Norfolk 23 July, 2018

A house with excellent facilities, superbly equipped, comfortable and met all of our needs.
Would highly recommend.