Holiday gite in rural Normandy Manche - NM005967

Les Loges-Marchis (5km from Saint-Hilaire-du-Harcouet), Manche, Normandy Reference: NM005967 Advertiser since: 8 January 2018
Property Board Arrival Bedrooms Sleeps Bathrooms Additional info
The Bijou Bakery Self Catering Flexible 2 4 1 Sofa Bed in lounge

About this property

Delightful Restored Bakery. This cottage/gite is in a rural setting.

Lovingly and expertly restored, overlooking the undulating land of Normandy. The view from the back is stunning and we have a large garden for you to enjoy complete with a terrace, bbq, hammocks, swings for the kids and a fire pit for enjoying the evenings with a little ambience.

The gites will sleep 6, a double bed room, 2 singles in the other bedroom and a sofa bed in the lounge. We have a small kitchen complete with oven/grill, fridge. Shower and toilet room, washing machine, iron. Each room has electric heaters and the main room has a wonderful log burning stove. The tv has all the English and French Freeview channels with a dvd player and lots of films and an X Box.

We are only just over 30 miles from the stunning and massive sandy beach at Jullouville, a short drive to the world heritage site of Mont St Michel and a little over an hour from Bayeux and the D Day Beaches. History and nature are all around us and everyone will find something to do here.



Kitchen and dining

Kitchen has conventional fan oven/grill/hob. Fridge freezer and all pots and pans, utensils etc. Dining room overlooks the incredible view.

Living rooms

Open plan


Master bedroom double bed, 2 singles in the second bedroom


Tolilet and shower room


Electric heaters in each room and also a log burning stove in the living room.


Tv with English and French channels. Stereo with lots of cds and vinyl, massive range of dvds and an XBox.

Garden and outside

Open plan garden overlooking the stunning views of Normandy. Bbq, cooking suite, fire pit and a lovely decked veranda.

Parking and garages

Parking adjacent to the house


  • Cleaning

  • No smoking

  • Linen


Antiques/Brocante Market

Name of nearest antiques/brocante market: Virey
Distance: 8 km


Fishing nearby

Species of fish: Trout
Name of nearest fishing location: La Selune
Distance: 5 km

Horse riding

Name and address of nearest stables: Agricultural College Bay
Distance: 4 km


Name/number of nearest marked trail: 36 named and 9 circular all listed at the tourist info

Wine tasting and cookery

About the Owner/Advertiser, Mr Spencer Richards

I'm a chef and I love the food and produce of Normandy. Ask me for dinner!

Year property purchased 2017
Why this location? Easy access to countless historical and natural sights, comfortable distance from the ports and peacefully nestled in the countryside. The perfect retreat with easy access to everything else you could want from a holiday.
Unique benefits of property A lovely old bakery overlooking incredible views of Normandy.

The Owner Recommends

Market Day

Wednesday is market day in Saint Hilaire du Harcouet. Large and bustling, full of La Vie Francaise and a huge range of products, wonderful fish stalls, local cheeses, artisan breads, leather goods, clothing..............

1 Review
  • Cleanliness: 3
  • Comfort: 8
  • Condition: 6
  • Facilities: 7
  • Local Amenities: 10
  • Setting: 10
  • Value for Money: 10
7.3 / 10 Richie_roo 8 August, 2018

We really enjoyed our stay in the cottage, Normandy is a beautiful place and the cottage is very comfortable, the advert did state hot tub and free WI-FI but neither were there (this was updated after my wife complained) there is a low voltage electric fence in the field to the back which is not signposted and my daughter did hurt her leg on it. The welcome pack said we would have to clean before we leave or be charged a cleaning fee, we cleaned right through and left it cleaner than when we arrived but we still got charged a cleaning fee which was very unfair. there is also no sewer so all waste goes into a cesspit which is not a problem as my father in law has one but this one did smell but that might just be that it is coming to the time for it to be emptied.

Owner response

Thanks for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. My sincerest apologies regarding the erroneous listing of the WiFi and as explained to you this should not have been visible and has since been updated. You were offered a very good discount but sadly the condition in which you left the cottage was the worst my cleaners have ever witnessed and we have applied the correct fees as stated to you for this. To elaborate they said it was left in a "vile" condition to the point the loo brush had to be bleached. You did not carry out any recycling from the rubbish either which had to done by emptying the rubbish bins.

Added to this I have received complaints from neighbours, that from the moment you arrived trash spilled from your car and was left on the ground. Empty cans and pop bottles were left in the field.
You entered livestock areas and left the gates open risking escape of the sheep.

You lit a fire every evening in the middle of July, seemingly without any other reason other than to use wood that is stored there as you felt in it was included in the price.

Please never come back to my region, let alone my house.