Family holiday gite with pool near Pontorson - NM006457

9.4/10
Montjoie-Saint-Martin (2km from Saint-James), Manche, Normandy Reference: NM006457 Advertiser since: 12 November 2014
Property Board Arrival Bedrooms Sleeps Bathrooms Additional info
Bouillante Self Catering Saturday 5 14 5 2 on a sofabed

About this property

Luxury Farmhouse, Heated Private Pool, Games Room. This cottage/gite is in a rural setting.

Beautifully appointed farmhouse in the bay of Mont Saint Michel on the Normandy Brittany border, France - All major attractions and great beaches within easy reach.

Newly renovated for the 2018 rental season, Bouillante is nestled in the beautiful countryside on the Normandy/Brittany border in a very private setting. Ideal for families or friends, the accommodation includes 5 bedrooms all en suite with a combination of baths and showers. 4 of the bedrooms are upstairs and 1 downstairs, ideal for those with difficulty climbing stairs. All the bedrooms have double beds and one also has bunk beds and can be used as a family room. One bedroom is a mini-suite with sofa bed.

Open plan fully equipped farmhouse kitchen/dining room including washing machine and tumble dryer. Large comfortable lounge with large tv and woodburner.

Gamesroom with full size pool table, table football, darts and many other games. Much of the original character of the property has been retained, including beamed ceilings and lime rendered walls, yet it incorporates all modern conveniences such as free wi-fi, French and UK Freeview tv and a fully equipped kitchen.

The full-size 10m x 5m in ground swimming pool is heated to a comfortable 28 degrees and children are well catered for in the gamesroom and outside play area which includes trampoline, swing set and slide and a playhouse. In a beautiful private country setting, yet only a few minutes from the lively market town of St James with all amenities. Many major attractions (Mont St Michel, adventure parks, golf, historic towns) and great beaches within easy reach.
A perfect location to enjoy a relaxing holiday with family and friends.

Type

Cottage/Gite

Kitchen and dining

Fully equipped kitchen with electric induction hob and electric oven, microwave, toaster, kettle, coffee pad machine and a very comprehensive range of crockery, cutlery and glasses and pots and pans etc. - everything you need to provide family meals.

Living rooms

Large lounge with enough seating for up to 12 people, tv with UK and French channels, Bluetooth music player.
Wood burner.

Bedrooms

Bedroom 1 - family room with double and bunk beds, family bathroom with bath/shower.
Bedroom 2 - double with tv and en suite bathroom with separate bath and shower.
Bedroom 3 - double with en suite shower room.
Bedroom 4 - 'mini suite' with double bed, sofa bed and tv, en suite shower room.
Bedroom 5 - downstairs double with en suite shower room.

Bathrooms

5 in total, 4 of which en suite.
Downstairs separate toilet.

Heating

Oil central heating, wood burner in lounge.

Entertainment

Games room with pool table, table football, darts etc.
Play area with swing set, slide, trampoline, play house and various other toys.
Full size 10x5m swimming pool heated to 28 degrees.

Garden and outside

Table and chairs for 12-14 people under a pergola.
Comfortable sitting area with umbrellas etc.
Large garden area behind house.

Parking and garages

Ample parking for up to 5 vehicles.

Visitor suitability

Suitable for visitors of all ages, one downstairs bedroom particularly suitable for those with limited mobility.

Facilities

  • Cleaning

  • Internet

  • No smoking

  • Pets welcomed *

  • Linen

  • Child facilities

  • Private pool

* Vet details: St James

Activities

Antiques/Brocante Market

Name of nearest antiques/brocante market: Various
Distance: 5 km

Cycling

Golf

Name and address of nearest golf course: Dol de Bretagne
Distance: 25 km

Horse riding

Name and address of nearest stables: St James
Distance: 2 km

Walking

Name/number of nearest marked trail: Various

About the Owner/Advertiser, Mr Max Owen

We gave up the corporate 'rat race' 5 years ago and moved to France with our children to enjoy a quieter life. We are now establishing a gite business with 3 properties, 2 of which are running in 2018 and the final one in 2019. We are focusing on providing charming period properties with modern conveniences and heated in-ground swimming pools for 10-14 people respectively. We endeavour to make every holiday for our guests a great experience, nothing is too much trouble.

Year property purchased 2008
Why this location? It's a great location right on the Normandy/Brittany border with so much to do within a short drive for people of all ages
Unique benefits of property All bedrooms are en suite, in ground pool and downstairs bedroom suitable for those who have difficulty climbing stairs.

The Owner Recommends

St Malo

Beautiful walled city

2 Reviews
9.4/10
  • Cleanliness: 9
  • Comfort: 9.5
  • Condition: 9.5
  • Facilities: 9.5
  • Local Amenities: 7.5
  • Setting: 10
  • Value for Money: 9
8.8 / 10 Tedn 2 November, 2018

The property has been recently refurbished to a very high standard in general and was very comfortable (apart from the beds which we found firm, but that is obviously a personal opinion).
It is situated in a lovely rural area and there is little to do/see locally. In particular to eat out in the evening would involve a 20 mile round trip drive. That was fine for us as we enjoyed eating outside at the house, but worth pointing out to those who like to dine out at restaurants when on holiday. There is a very good SuperU in Saint James. We enjoyed using the facilities at the property very much (pool, pool table and table tennis).
There were some issues during our weeks stay. The cleaner was still at the property when we arrived (apparently due to prior guests) so the property was not fully prepared and ready for our arrival which was disappointing after a long hot journey. There were mice in the kitchen during our weeks stay due to the back door having a 2" hole/gap at the bottom and the kitchen bins of a style that do not have a lid. The owner dealt with the mouse issue promptly providing traps, but until the back door is fixed, this is likely to continue to be a problem. We could not drain the bath as the plug mechanism was not functioning.
Overall a great property but not in an area that we would choose to return to.

Owner response

Thank you your review and we are glad you liked the house. Regarding eating out, it's a shame you didn't try one of the 7 restaurants in St James just 2 miles away - 3 French, a pizzeria/grill, 2 brasseries and a Turkish. One of the reasons most people stay in our properties is the abundance of things to do in the area, from the historical - Mont St Michel, Fougères with the largest walled castle in Europe and St Malo with its walled city and thousand year history. Bayeux with its famous tapestry and the WW2 landing beaches are only 90 minutes away and an easy day trip; the beautiful beaches and beach towns - Dinard, Cancale with its famous oyster banks and seafood restaurants and Granville. Rennes, the university city is only 40 minutes away and there are numerous zoos, animal parks, kids amusement parks only a short drive away. You can also walk, cycle, fish, play golf in close proximity. Thanks for pointing out the mouse problem, this has now been resolved and apologies that you had to wait half an hour for our cleaners to finish, but we pride ourselves in providing high quality accommodation with a high level of cleanliness. This is sometimes hard to achieve when we have an issue and this is something you should appreciate having allowed your dogs to swim in the pool on multiple occasions (could have caused huge damage to the liner) and sleep in the bedrooms despite me specifically asking them not to. This made preparing for the guests after you very challenging as well

10 / 10 Kinsman 3 September, 2018

Fantastic property, the owners have thought of everything. Beautifully decorated and extremely clean. Wonderful outdoor space with a great playground for the children and good size clean pool. The owners were very prompt with all communication. Would highly recommended.