Cottage for holiday let Charente Maritime - PM003454

Marennes (17km from La Tremblade), Charente Maritime, Poitou Charentes Reference: PM003454 Advertiser since: 30 October 2013
Property Board Arrival Bedrooms Sleeps Bathrooms
Le Pressoir Self Catering Flexible 3 6 1

About this property

Cottage with Pool and Nearby Beach. This cottage/gite is in a coastal setting.

Not far from miles of sandy beach and pine forests, this cottage is in a group of 6 more-or-less identical cottages. Each cottage has its own private fenced and gated garden with patio and barbecue. There are huge shared grounds with plenty of room for children to run around. 
A short walk through the woodland takes you to the village shop and bar.
Very popular: We have the same families coming back year after year.
There is a large 16m x 8m pool fully decked, fenced and solar heated. Kiddy play area.
The grounds are walled with an 8ft high stone wall and big gates to keep cars and children safe.
This cottage has 3 bedrooms, bathroom with shower and an open plan kitchen/living room.
Private patio with furniture, bbq and huge shared grounds
Private parking and bikes for hire
You can also hire cots, high chair etc. - please enquire.
The property is simple (but modernised), rural, traditional and really quite charming.
One pet sometimes accepted out of peak season @ 150 Euros pw supplement.

Prices are based on 2 people per bedroom


We have had the pleasure in staying in a couple of the cottages now as always find them totally charming. We have taken the children and they always enjoy it too. But best please to relax and explore on the holidays without the kids! Riding a bike in the area is such a fun way to explore. and then enjoy a lovely glass of wine in your own garden area at the end of the day! we will be back.....
Christine - 4 stars

We have visit here several times, The accommodation is charming and comfortable with so much to do in the area. We have taken friends and family and all have loved it. There is something for children to do on site which is always an advantage and in low session we have even been able to take the dog! (he loves it too!)
Lizzie Morely - 4 stars

We went to this place last year and are gutted to have just found out they are already full the weeks we want. It is true that (reading through other reviews) the place is a bit old-fashioned (only a bit), but in many ways that is what makes it so charming. Lovely pool and grounds. Wish we could go back - will do next year instead...
Connie Weald - 4 stars

We have just returned from our holiday in France where we stayed at Rochebonne cottages. We had a great time and the owners were very pleasant and helpful. The cottages are beautifully done, all very quaint, not "sterile" as so many holiday houses are. The pool was gorgeous. Highly recommended.
Esther Renault - 5 stars

I didn’t have the pleasure of meeting you while we were there but we met Bruce several times and, of course, your caretakers and the priceless cleaning lady!We enjoyed our holiday very much indeed and are looking forward to coming again some time, perhaps with a larger party because we did rattle around a bit in the huge house.I must just say a word about your paintings - what a talented person you are ! Bruce told us that most of them are your handy-work as well as the decorating, curtains etc. Bien a vous - as they say!

Charlie and Denny - 5 stars



Kitchen and dining

Open plan farmhouse kitchen, dining and living area with all mod cons. Dishwasher, washing machine, microwave, utensils. Big dining table with plenty of seating.

Living rooms

Open plan living room with satellite tv, dvd player and wifi.


One double bed and 4 single beds plus room for a cot. All upstairs. A hairdryer is provided.


Bath with shower, basin and wc.


Electric heaters and woodburner.


Children's play area with sandpit, slide, book room with table football, several outdoor games including informal facilities for football badminton and table tennis.

Garden and outside

Very secure, so you can relax while the children play.

Parking and garages

Private off-road gated parking.

Visitor suitability

Not suitable for limited mobility.
We do not accept visitors either overnight or during the day unless they are booked in (insurance regulations); supplement may be payable.

Information about any additional facilities

The pool is solar-heated
Bikes for hire
Family pet supplement 150 Euros per week, but no pets accepted in peak season.


  • Cleaning

  • Internet

  • No smoking

  • Pets welcomed

  • Linen

  • Child facilities

  • Shared pool


Antiques/Brocante Market

Name of nearest antiques/brocante market: Marennes
Distance: 4 km


Fishing nearby

Species of fish: sea and freshwater
Name of nearest fishing location: Marennes
Distance: 1 km


Name and address of nearest golf course: Royan, Saintes and La Palmyre
Distance: 15 km

Horse riding

Name and address of nearest stables: Marennes and La Palmyre
Distance: 4 km

Mountain biking

Distance: 6 km

Signed wine route

Name of nearest signed wine route: Maps are available



Name/number of nearest marked trail: Village


Wine tasting

Name and address of nearest wine producer: Marennes, La Gua,
Distance: 4 km

About the Owner/Advertiser, Ms Catherine Broughton

We bought this property totally derelict in 1995. Picture shows me holding one of my grandsons!

Year property purchased 1995
Why this location? We love the amazingly good climate in this area
Unique benefits of property We are close to miles of sandy beach

The Owner Recommends

One of the sunniest parts of France

'Zoo, beaches, historic towns, Markets, sea food.' There are many beaches in the area including a giant lagoon ideal for kids and beaches with forest walks. Many cycle paths in the area, loads of sea food restaurants, markets in most towns and "brocquante" markets most week ends. The area has many Roman and Napoleonic buildings and fortifications with a lot of history from the second world war. There is a neolithic site near the Roman town of Saintes and Cognac is a comfortable drive away. There is a very impressive zoo and several riding centres plus of course three golf courses not too far away.

1 Review
  • Cleanliness: 5
  • Comfort: 5
  • Condition: 6
  • Facilities: 7
  • Local Amenities: 7
  • Setting: 8
  • Value for Money: 7
6.3 / 10 The 2 H's 24 May, 2015

> On arrival (early evening) 1st impressions were good, the setting was picturesque and the grounds were spacious and secure. The cottage has the potential to be lovely but we did encounter a few issues on arrival. There was no bedding or towels in the child's bedroom (ordered before arrival as 'extras') and the sky light blind was broken in his bedroom so we had to try and fix this. The cottage lacked a few 'essentials' (oven glove, tea towels, washing up liquid/sponge, bowls, soap in bathroom/kitchen - we flew so had not got these). The gas for the cooker was also out, so that first night we could only cook on 1 electric hob. The cottage was well presented and mostly clean but we did find a little mould in the fridge, and there was a dirty blanket wrapped in a grey plastic bag on the shelving in one of the bedrooms (which the owner the next day seemed a bit flabbergasted about but has since claimed we are lying about, which is not true at all). It also became quite cold in the living area downstairs later on and there was no heater supplied, so we had to wrap up! There was also a water leak from the bathroom sink.
> As the owners were away and it was late by the time we arrived, we were greeted by, and had to try and report the lack of bedding to a French gentleman who resided in one of the cottages (he does not work for the owners as such). He managed to comprehend and kindly took us to a store of 'emergency' linen next to the cottages, so we gathered the missing towels and bedding and were able to put our little boy to bed in the end.
> The next morning we wanted to use the outdoor pool but found it to be quite dirty. As we wanted to make use of it we did find a net and cleaned it as best we could ourselves.There were also no parasols available despite the weather warranting them.

When the owners arrived later on that second day we reported these issues to them and told them that we felt as though our arrival had just not been expected, and they obliged in resolving the main issues for us and told us that the cleaning staff were left instructions by them to ensure the cottage was ready for us, so we are not too sure what went wrong really with the communication there. Perhaps if the owners had not been away and/or the communications with their staff responsible for looking after such matters in their absence were a little clearer perhaps, it's possible that the issues we have highlighted above may well have been avoided and indeed may not be issues in the future if the owners take note.

On a more positive note, our 2 and a half year old loved the outdoor play area and fort, and the stair gate was a great touch. The cottage would benefit from having some child-friendly crockery/cutlery (would have given us peace of mind given the breakages deposit one has to pay). There is a 'book room' with books and a few games which was a nice facility to have but it did lack items for younger children. The cottage overall was nice but the beds and sofas are not the comfiest and we really think it would benefit from a few more basic essentials. Better quality linen and towels would also be recommended considering the extra charge for this (we were surprised to be told by the owner that they spend a substantial amount on hiring this in).

> The area is good in that a short drive away you have lovely beaches, facilities and nice places to visit. In the immediate area, you can walk into the nearest village but there is not a lot there, only a couple of small shops were open and the bar/restaurant never opened in the evening (although we were there out of season). So if you like to 'get away from it all' the location is ideal, but if you like to have a bit more 'life' within walking distance, it may be a bit quiet for you.
> Just one more thing - please be aware that you are charged extra for towels/bedding/water/cleaning of the cottage if you don't clean it yourself. The website does mention the linen charge but the rest was a surprise (we later found details under chateau and barn conversion sections but its not stated under 'cottages' so is not overly clear or obvious) when the owner contacted us 3 weeks prior to the holiday to inform us of these 'extras' - just would have saved hassle if we were told at the point of booking. Also, bring your own dvd's as there is a player which is great to have, but no dvd's provided - not a gripe, just useful info so you can come prepared. We are not 'picky' people, we just personally like a little more comfort than what this cottage provided and we were just disappointed about the issues we encountered on arrival. But on the whole we did enjoy ourselves and the cottages do provide a good base to explore the area if you are happy in basic and (mostly) clean accommodation. Would we return again? No. We would rather pay a little more for better quality and something a bit comfier in a livelier area, where honest feedback is graciously received and valued.

Owner response

Approx 40% of our guests are re-bookings, so most people love it. You just hit a bad week and its a pity. All extras are clearly stated on the web site. The pool and grass were like that because it had been very windy and pouring with rain. I'm afraid some of what you have written is porky-pies, but no matter. We fixed all your niggles immediately we heard about them and feel it is rotten of you to continue to complain. Please do not return.