Character farm for holiday let, Loire Valley

Disse-sous-le-Lude (20km from Saumur), Indre et Loire, Loire Valley Reference: VI002715 Advertiser since: 19 May 2010
Property Board Arrival Bedrooms Sleeps Bathrooms Additional info
La Brosse Self Catering Saturday 4 7 2 2 portable beds

About this property

Superb Private 17thC Loire Valley Character Farm. This cottage/gite is in a rural setting.

La Brosse is a traditional 17th century longhouse in the Loire valley, suitable for a large family gathering or a smaller, romantic break; as a base to explore the treasures of  the Rivers Loire and Loir, or just somewhere to relax. It is a short drive from a large modern supermarket but is in rolling countryside with walks and bike rides and is very private - not shared and no 'owner next door'!

It has many character features, including huge beams, stonework and bread-oven, but has been completely refitted in a simple, uncluttered style with new beds and kitchen, including dishwasher, fridge, deep-freeze and washing machine. Log fire. HD satellite, UK Freeview tv.
We have many repeat bookings each year, even at Christmas, and have glowing testimonials on our website.
NB: No pool for 2013 onwards due to French 'Safety Laws'.
Linen and towels available at a subsidised cost of only £10 per person.



Kitchen and dining

Large kitchen/diner with huge range of utensils and crockery; features bread oven, massive beams, stonework, equipped with cd player (with iPod connection), dishwasher, microwave, gas cooker, coffee-machines, slow-cooker, grill etc.

Living rooms

Large stone fireplace with log burning stove (logs supplied free). Hd tv (UK channels) + dvd player. Dozens of films, hundreds of books. Games. Pleasantly cool in the summer.


Four rooms: 1 double, 1 twin, 1 bunk bed, 1 single. Large rooms have huge beams and country views. Quality linen and towels supplied if needed. Country views; double room has small stone terrace with table and chairs for morning coffee for 2. Twin room has wc and sink. Single room on level, suitable for older person/restricted mobility. Bunk room is between double rooms (screened from access corridor by curtains)


One bathroom with bath, shower, double sink, bidet. Fully tiled. One separate wc and another in twin bedroom.


Log burning stove. Electric heaters.


Hd tv with Freesat. Dvd players and scores of films. Hundreds of books and games. Large outdoor table tennis table. Small pool table. Bikes. Boules area and equipment. Cd player.

Garden and outside

One and a half acres of grass, shrubs and trees. Not overlooked. Extremely quiet. Garden furniture. National footpath passes gate. Many beautiful circular walks and bike rides. Lots of wildlife including deer, unusual birds, plus occasional hare, boar, stone marten.

Parking and garages

Ample easy parking and large wooden hangar for shade. Very quiet lane but easy access and only 30 minutes from the motorway.

Visitor suitability

Somewhere to relax. Visit chateaux (from 10 minutes away), superb zoos from 30 minutes, rolling unspoilt countryside, wide range of excellent restaurants from 10 minutes; big cities from 30 minutes. 30 mins from Le Mans race circuit.

Information about any additional facilities

English-speaking caretakers 2 minutes away can provide home cooked meals (former award winning restauranteurs) and welcome packs and can also help in an emergency. Telephone.


  • Cleaning

  • Internet

  • No smoking

  • Pets welcomed

  • Linen

  • Meals



Signed wine route

Name of nearest signed wine route: Anjou


Name/number of nearest marked trail: GR Caen - Med

Wine tasting

Name and address of nearest wine producer: Saumur
Distance: 15 km

About the Owner, Mr Christopher Lane

I am an author and script writer (if really curious search Chris-Lane in Amazon or go to my website: My wife Norma is currently Head of Operations for New Zealand Ambulance Service so we don't get to France much nowadays!

Year property purchased 2000
Why this location? This spot is perfect - very quiet and rural but close to all the big tourist attractions of the Loire and Loir and not far from modern shops.
Unique benefits of property La Brosse is over 400 years old and still has most of its ancient features, yet fully modernised where it matters! It is VERY quiet and private and perfect for relaxing and sight-seeing.

The Owner Recommends

Nearest market

Le Lude 5km

3 Reviews
  • Cleanliness: 6
  • Comfort: 6.7
  • Condition: 6.7
  • Facilities: 7
  • Local Amenities: 7.3
  • Setting: 9.3
  • Value for Money: 7
9.5 / 10 Violet from Wimborne 9 October, 2015

We returned yesterday from our nicest French holiday ever. We constantly seek the ideal Gite. La Brosse was so much more than that.
The setting was fabulous..... Absolutely no noise but for the birds, (I saw a crested tit) the wind in the trees and occasional tractor wandering by, or cows going to be milked.
The house was massive and had so much interest both inside and in the outbuildings. There was a beautiful, if slightly wild garden that surrounded it. We saw red squirrel and Stone Martens there.
The house was typically French and full of history... It was rather quirky, for example, going to the loo upstairs in the nights was an adventure! We appreciated the use of the amazing collection of lovely books, DVDs and CDs. There were even bikes to use and so many children's toys and games. So much to make any family very feel at home. We had use of a washing machine, big freezer and two refrigerators.

We were told we could walk to a restaurant in Disse, which was true but its opening hours were such we did not manage to get to eat there, a shame but, it is out of season now. The local town was about 4 miles away, Le Lude was gorgeous, with its own Chateau, lots of good places to eat and walk. It had a decent sized Supermarket, a weekly markets and the local Bar Tabacs made us and our dog very welcome.

I would wholeheartedly recommend La Brosse to a friend, especially one who loved to walk in the countryside and wanted plenty of R and R.

8.8 / 10 Tinaste 3 November, 2014

What a lovely and charming place this is. It has been restored very authentically and with affection by it's current owners who have provided lots of facilities but kept things simple too. Very rustic we went in October and enjoyed the real log fires although locally a lot of places were shut.

3 / 10 Beware 11 August, 2014

Did the advert description accurately describe the property?
Lovely rural setting with large garden but hammock and swing chair dirty and unusable. One "bedroom" is a hallway with a bunk bed, the "terrace" is the top of a stairway outside the main bedroom. The balcony in the double bedroom has broken uprights which are hazardous.

Was the property clean, was it well-maintained, etc?
No. Mouldy crockery and kitchen gloves. Tooth found on the floor in one bedroom and dental floss from previous occupant left in bedroom. Mould growing on walls in kitchen

Did the owner provide good customer service?
No, an arrogant, dismissive email from the owner when we raised complaints on return. We were told we had complained too late in the holiday and were after a free holiday when we asked for a partial refund.

Would you recommend this property to a friend or relative?
No. See above. Avoid. You can do better for much less in the same area.

What activities, attractions and restaurants did you like or dislike?
Lovely location, lots to do in the area and within an hours drive. Family of dormice living in garden were entertaining to watch, saw stone marten in local forest.

Owner response

ONLY complaint in 10 years. They called out the English caretakers once to remove wasp nest; response was instant and they had ample chance to show any problems but didn't feel strongly enough at that time(!) Only when they got home and saw that due to a cancellation the price for other weeks in August had dropped did they get in touch with rambling list of complaints (different to that above!) and DEMANDED we refund the difference in price in 7 days or else! We said no. This is the result :)